Telkom 8ta

My Hello Peter complaint about my 8ta 3G connection that disconnects every 5 minutes

Telkom 8ta

I’ve been using 8ta’s 3G 10GB go big internet since last year October. It worked perfectly and super fast up until a month ago where it started to disconnect every 5 minutes. It will connect, then work for about 5-6 minutes and then it will disconnect for 10-15 minutes. I’m unable to do anything using the crappy 8ta 3G connection. So I’ve posted a complaint on the Hello Peter website so hopefully they’ll come back with some answers.

http://www.hellopeter.com/8ta/complaints/my-3g-disconnects-every-3-minutes-759906

About the Author
Hi. I'm currently 28 years old and I'm a full time Front-End Developer. I also love to take photos, play guitar and listen to hard rock, metal and folk rock. I created this blog when I was figuring out how Wordpress works and it eventually started to get a LOT of hits every month. I'm now trying to expand this blog and trying to turn it into a magazine type website. I like to write although I'm not very good at it. I hope you enjoy this website and don't forget to leave a comment.

25 comments

  1. poorpaul March 20, 2012 at 2:21 pm

    yes , sadly 8ta is absolutely useless . i can;t get my money back , i’m paying yet they havent even given me a simm or modem .. gr8 service , consumer act here i come

    1. Francdore March 20, 2012 at 3:03 pm

      Just to give an update, an 8ta technician came to my house yesterday to check what was going on and why my 8ta modem was disconnecting every 5 minutes. He didn’t really do anything. He just checked the signal with an APP called RF Signal Checker on his Android phone and found that I have almost no signal where the modem was standing. He also went outside to check the signal and it was the same. My signal with the 8ta SIM card was -101dBm which was crap. What I don’t understand is why it worked perfectly and super fast and now it doesn’t. So the problem must be something with their tower.

      1. Andre April 1, 2012 at 12:16 pm

        Hey guys I stay in Linden! Exactly the same problem, for the past week it was working perfectly fine until 2-3 days ago! It suspect it must be an issue with my local tower! This is unacceptable!!!! Im sure tons of people are having the same problem! This is a load of sh#t!

        1. Gareth May 30, 2012 at 9:34 am

          Hi Andre. I have just moved into Linden and am having the same issue (using the 8ta 10G promotion) According to the 8ta website the 3G coverage should be great in Linden on the promotion.

          Unfortunately in the evening (which is the only time I would really need to use it in any case) it is SO slow, to the point of being completely unuseable!

          1. colin August 1, 2013 at 8:46 am

            I have the exact same problem in the Fourways Craigavon area
            8ta disconnects my router about 20 times a day

          2. Francdore August 1, 2013 at 8:53 am

            Hey Colin, I don’t have this problem anymore. Ask 8ta or Telkom Mobil to come out and make some adjustments for you.

  2. Eleni March 20, 2012 at 2:27 pm

    If someone could let me know why I have had 4 hours of no network coverage from 8am till 14:00 today and this has been going on since I got this 8ta Sim card last Thursday.
    This is pathetic!

  3. Fabio March 29, 2012 at 6:24 pm

    Lives in Lonehill. Got the exact same problem since yesterday. The signal is very low. It worked perfectly for almost 2 months an all of sudden it is gone… It is either something wrong with their tower or too many subscribers. Let’s shout!

  4. Andre April 1, 2012 at 12:19 pm

    Hey guys I stay in Linden! Exactly the same problem, for the past week it was working perfectly fine until 2-3 days ago! It suspect it must be an issue with my local tower! This is unacceptable!!!! Im sure tons of people are having the same problem!

  5. Joel April 18, 2012 at 10:09 am

    Honestly,i really do not undestand what the f 8.ta is doing.I have trying to check my emails,facebook and tweet from last week Thursday from my phone bt the network does not work properly,it disconnects every minute.Basically i cannot do sh#t.I am in the centre of Pretoria,Hatfield surely their should be enough coverage.Everytime i call the customer,they give me new settings.Eyo this is bullsh#t. 8.ta should get their acts together or atleast we deserve a public announcement declaring faulty systems unlike stalling on us

  6. Devon April 24, 2012 at 1:09 pm

    I live in Northpine,Cape Town
    and have had 8ta since Last year..
    the reception/signal/speeds where excellent..i would regularly play BF3 online on the PS3
    but since the last week the signal has been pathetic.. cuts out..
    i have done speedtest before with 3mb dl/1mb upload
    and now its 512kb\26kb upload
    any thing we can do other than complain?

  7. Lisa April 25, 2012 at 2:42 pm

    Every month I have the same story with 8.ta when I try to load my R59 prepaid BIS on my Blackberry. I am so fed up with this network and the consultants give you the same answer every month. Is there somebody with a bit of sence who can help me??? I have loaded the airtime, went through all the options, took sim out, took battery out, put everything back, with no results!!!

  8. ragged May 19, 2012 at 1:38 pm

    Im thinking of getting the 8ta 10gb plan,im on durban beachfront,is it worth it?I read so many complaints on the web
    thanks

  9. ISABEL FERREIRA July 12, 2012 at 7:04 am

    HELLO PETER

    I URGENTLY NEED TO CONAACT YOU, PLEASE?
    ABOVE IS MY E-MAIL.

    I BEG YOU TO CONACT ME TO RESOLVE AN URGENT PROBLEM?

    THANK YOU ISABEL

  10. Mohammed September 6, 2012 at 8:10 am

    Me too!
    I had excellent coverage in July. Now that I have the 10 gb package, I have no signal at home. The signal cuts off at my driveway gate!
    Like many others, I don’t understand how I had good signal in the past at the same venue?!

    1. Francdore September 6, 2012 at 8:15 am

      Hi. 8ta actually has great service. They came out twice to my house to make adjustments and they’re also installing a 3g signal booster at my house for free.

      Just give them a call and they will come and sort you out. It’s just something that they adjusted at the tower.

  11. Maila September 13, 2012 at 7:48 pm

    Anyone knows what i can do to stop my 8ta modem from disconnecting every 5mins?

  12. Calvin Nel January 2, 2013 at 6:08 pm

    same problem… something has changes and is now wrong… keeps dropping like every 5-10min

  13. jd Clarence January 10, 2013 at 3:31 pm

    Contrary to all the disappointing feedback… I have been using 8ta 10GIG for months now with no problem on my tablet…

    1. Frataf June 18, 2013 at 9:04 pm

      I presume you are just lucky that the capacity in your area has not been oversold…. yet.

      1. Francdore June 19, 2013 at 7:51 am

        Hey. Yeah sometimes my 3G gets a bit slow. Like at the end of the month and also during the week. So I guess that’s because of traffic load.

        Francois

  14. natalie April 17, 2013 at 11:55 am

    i have been having the same problem for the last 2 weeks now. My signal strength is full, as the tower is only about 1km away, but it keeps dropping every 5 mins. It’s driving me crazy!

  15. Stephan February 13, 2014 at 2:48 pm

    I had only bad experiences with 8-ta…I have a 10 gig contract which expires randomly…long before the end of the month my internet stops saying I am out of airtime. .? Knowing what and where I surf as well as retrieving my e-mail, there is no chance in this world that I can use up 10 Gig’s, not even 2…complaints regarding this isses, is all over the net and lately, above all, my internet just simply shut off…just like everybody else’s…good luck…???

  16. Kenneth Rudy April 9, 2014 at 8:24 pm

    I am having the same problem, my connection is as slow as hell and drops every 5 -10 min, its only been like this for the last two weeks. I contacted 8ta they just told me to change a setting on my dongle, which did not help at all. Im still waiting to hear back from them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>